Welcome 2011!


2010 has been a really tough year for many people and people are hopefully being optimistic about the future. Many families have been dealing with some really scary issues. I can tell you from personal experience 2010 was the year that I really learned to count my blessings.

Another year gone. A whole lot of memories floating my mind; some bitter, some more than pleasant. There are some people I would thank for making me see the light when I was alone standing in dark and yet I would thank those who lead me to experience that isolation and making me strong enough to face the circumstances. Beyond the shadow of doubt, 2010 has been the most action-packed year in my 17 year life. Some friends left the scene while new ones made their position more eminent. I made a million mistakes yet I have no regrets.  So many memories for me to think and be pleased about, yet much more of them heartrending and gloomy. From my sea of memories, here are some which make me feel good…

I still remember…it was 10th of February 2010, we just came back from our physics class. The feeling that day was so great that I can hardly put it into words. Three months, five people with the whole world against us; the Mission Impossible was made possible. That was the day Elixir Winter Edition-2010 was published (the one with me as co-editor)!

“Avada Kedavra”, I screamed in my dream to Voldemort. I suddenly woke up by the chorus of “Happy birthday!” and then there were a number of camera flashes. Rubbing my eyes, when I escaped from that trance, I saw three of my besties standing beside me in my muddled room with a delicious chocolate cake. I was on 7th sky that day!

When I signed up for FPAP I never knew that it would be a worth-while experience. It encouraged me to do more for human rights and made me realize how unthankful we all are for what we are bestowed upon. Close to reality stories made me come back to earth and take the responsibility of –if not reversing then-stopping more destruction and harm!

Ups and downs, success and failures, love and hatred, many relations were lost and new bonds formed as well… everything moving side by side! But 2010 would always be a gem in my memory; I found the meaning of my existence, I found love and friends, I learned lessons from my mistakes which people learn in an extent of many years! 2011 is here and it brings new opportunities to make up with old friends, expressing regrets and admitting mistakes. It brings another chance to all of us to reconstruct and regain ourselves.

My resolutions are now quiet different from what they were before. I now desire to be a more conscientious and responsible citizen of the society. I now desire to play my role in the evolution of Pakistan for I was previously oblivious to my duties. I now desire to be a better human being and a better Muslim! Success is not an accident; it begins with a well-conceived plan. You can and will achieve more in the next year than you have in the past ten with a disciplined plan of action. By investing your efforts into a New Year’s Resolution, you give yourself a launch pad for starting your new year and your new life!

Say welcome to success and achievement, say welcome to 2011!

21 responses to “Welcome 2011!

  1. wow…u were the editor of a mag…? tht is so cool!!!
    and you must be lucky to have such friends and lol @ur dream of voldemort :P
    i hope you succeed in getting what you want!

  2. no doubts..another excellent article from you rooha!!!loved this one!!n yes i’ll always be there for you no matter what!!!!!
    lots of prayers from my side!!:)

  3. Can I just say what a reduction to seek out someone who really knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You positively know find out how to deliver a problem to mild and make it important. Extra people need to read this and perceive this facet of the story. I cant consider youre not more fashionable since you undoubtedly have the gift.

Share your views !

